Grantees Conference: Nanotechnology for Sustainable Society

The Conference is a combination of keynotes, panels, posters, program information sessions, discussions of research trends, and principal investigator meetings with NSF program directors. The presentations will cover research trends, foundational breakthroughs with broad relevance, overviews of progress and new research, education, and innovation areas with a focus in sustainable nanotechnology. Keynote presentations generally are followed by discussion panels. The following are the main themes:

Agenda updated September 28, 2022.

Day 1: Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Science and Engineering Foundations for Sustainable Nanotechnology

09:00Pre-Day 1 Poster Session
Session Co-Chairs: Dan Herr, University of North Carolina-Greensboro; Abiodun (Abby) Ilumoka, NSF/EHR/DUE
10:30Welcome: Susan Margulies, NSF Assistant Director for Engineering
10:40Overview Nanotechnology Foundations for Sustainable Society, Mike Roco, NSF
11:00Introductions and sustainable nanotechnology landscape: Tools and assessment metrics

Session Co-Chairs: Dan Herr, University of North Carolina – Greensboro and Nora Savage, NSF/CBET
11:05Keynote: Jennifer Dunn, Northwestern University
11:30Panelist I: Barbara Karn, Sustainable Nanotechnology Organization
11:36Panelist II: Arturo Keller, Bren School, UCSB
11:42Roundtable Q&A
12:00Fundamental aspects of sustainable nanotechnology, e.g. quantum biology

Session Co-Chairs: Clarice Aiello, UCLA and Engin Serpersu, NSF/BIO/MCB
12:05Keynote: Gregory Engel, University of Chicago
12:30Panelist I: Wendy Beane, Western Michigan University
12:36Panelist II: Nikhil Malvankar, Yale University
12:42Roundtable Q&A
13:00Lunch Break
13:30Eco Nanomanufacturing

Session Co-Chairs: Paul Westerhoff, Arizona State University and Khershed Cooper, NSF/CMMI
13:35Keynote: Zak Holman, Arizona State University
14:00Panelist I: Shu Yang, University of Pennsylvania
14:06Panelist II: Margaret Sobkowicz Kline, University of Massachusetts Lowell
14:12Roundtable Q&A
14:30Nanotechnology for clean and sustainable energy conversion

Session Co-Chairs: Uwe Kortshagen, University of Minnesota and Carole Read, NSF/CBET
14:35Keynote: Harry Atwater, CalTech
15:00Panelist I: Lea Nienhaus, Florida State University
15:06Panelist II: Aaswath Raman, University of California Los Angeles
15:12Roundtable Q&A
15:30Break 15'
15:45Nanotechnology for clean and sustainable energy storage:

Session Co-Chairs: Eric Detsi, University of Pennsylvania and Robert Meulenberg, NSF DMR
15:50Keynote: Sarah Tolbert, University of California Los Angeles
16:15Panelist I: Y. Shirley Meng, University of Chicago
16:21Panelist II: Paul Braun, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
16:27Roundtable Q&A
16:45Day 1 Wrap-up

Day 2: Thursday, December 8, 2022

Nanotechnology for the environment, society,
and workforce development

Pre-Day 2 Poster Session
11:00Nanotechnology for the environment, society, and workforce development

Session Co-Chairs: Omowunmi (Wunmi) Sadik, New Jersey Institute of Technology; Pradeep Fulay, NSF/ITE
11:05Keynote: Catherine Murphy, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
11:30Panelist I: Wen Zhang, New Jersey Institute of Technology
11:36Panelist II: Philip Demokritou, Rutgers University
11:42Roundtable Q&A
12:00Nanotechnology for sustainable nanomaterials and a clean geoenvironment:

Session Co-Chairs: Junhong Chen, University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory; Suk-Wah Tam-Chang NSF/CHE

12:05Keynote 1: Greg Lowry, Carnegie Mellon University
12:30Panelist I: Stacey Harper, Oregon State University
12:36Panelist II: Simon Humphrey, University of Texas at Austin
12:42Roundtable Q&A
13:30Nano EHS to concurrently monitor and improve the environment and health:

Session Co-Chairs: Mark Tuominen, University of Massachusetts-Amherst; Nora Savage, NSF
13:35Keynote: Aaron Sadow, Iowa State University
14:00Panelist I: Leanne Gilbertson, University of Pittsburgh
14:06Panelist II: Qilin Li, Rice University
14:12Roundtable Q&A
14:30Evidence-based SEI knowledge, attitude and practice

Session Co-Chairs: David Berube – North Carolina State University and Stacey Standridge, NSF/OISE

14:35Keynote: Rosalyn Berne, University of Virginia
15:00Panelist I: Jameson Wetmore, Arizona State University
15:06Panelist II: Lee Ann Kahlor, University of Texas at Austin
15:12Roundtable Q&A
15:30Break 15'
15:45Education and Sustainable Nanotechnology

Session Co-Chairs: Deb Newberry, Newberry Technology Associates and Celeste Carter, NSF/DUE
15:50Keynote: Christine Broadridge, Southern Connecticut State University
16:05Panelist I: Celeste Carter, NSF/DUE “Nanotechnology Education at Community Colleges”
16:13Panelist II: Osama Awadelkarim, The Pennsylvania State University
16:23Panelist III: Pawan Tyagi, University of the District of Columbia
16:30Roundtable Q&A
16:50Conference wrap-up
Closing Comments – Nora Savage, Mike Roco, Khershed Cooper, and Dan Herr